Missouri MIP Law – Minor in Possession

The Missouri Minor in Possession (MIP) statute expands the definition of “possession” to include “possession by consumption” and appearing “visibly intoxicated.”
In Missouri, the MIP “possession by consumption” law provides that minors (16-20 years old) who plead guilty to or are found guilty of MIP shall have their driver license suspended for 90 days for a 1st offense and revoked for one (1) year for any second or subsequent offense MIP (RSMo 577.500). An suspended imposition of sentence (SIS) has the same impact on a minor’s driver license as a conviction.
The Missouri MIP law provides for the Expungement of a MIP when specific requirements are met. The “expungement” of a MIP is the court-ordered removal of all official records of the arrest, plea, trial and conviction relating to the MIP. The effect of an expungement under the MIP law is to restore a person’s legal status to that he or she had before the arrest, plea or conviction of MIP, as if the MIP never happened.