Missouri’s “Abuse and Lose” law (RSMo § 577.500) requires Missouri courts to suspend or revoke the driving privileges (driver license) of any person who is determined to have committed any of the following offenses if they were under 21 years old at the time the offense was committed:
- Any alcohol-related traffic offense;
- Any offense involving the possession or use of alcohol, committed while operating a motor vehicle;
- Any offense involving the possession or use of a controlled substance (ex. marijuana);
- Any offense involving the alteration, modification or misrepresentation of a license to operate a motor vehicle (driver license); and
- Any offense involving the possession or use of alcohol (MIP) for a second time if both offenses were committed when the minor was under 18 years of age.
A minor is “determined to have committed the offense” listed above upon any of the following:
- Plea of Guilty
- Finding of Guilt
- Finding of Fact that Offense was Committed (in juvenile court)
The period of time the minor’s driver license is suspended or revoked under Missouri’s “Abuse and Lose” law depends on whether the MIP was a 1st, 2nd or subsequent offense.
The driver license suspension and revocation periods for committing any of the offenses above is as follows:
- 1st Offense MIP: 90-Day Suspension
- 2rd Offense MIP: 1-Year Revocation
The period of driver license revocation for all subsequent offenses (3rd, 4th, 5th offenses, etc.) is one year.