As of January 1st, 2017 the State of Missouri has relaxed penalties regarding possession of marijuana. These apply to charges brought be a state agency. Municipalities, such as Maryland Heights, may or may not have their own rules for enforcement of possession infractions.
For a first time possession of less than 10 grams there is no incarceration. This charge will be classified as a Class D Misdemeanor. The maximum fine associated with a Class D Misdemeanor is $500.00. 10 grams is more than a quarter ounce, but less than half an ounce. This only applies to first time offenders with less than 10 grams.
Previous pleas of guilty to possession of marijuana or possession of 10 – 35 grams will result in the charge being classified as a Class A Misdemeanor. Penalties for a Class A Misdemeanor are up to 1 year in jail and up to $2,000 in fines. Possession of more than 35 grams is a still a felony.
The penalties for possession of paraphernalia remain the same. Further, possession or use of marijuana still results in a suspension of the offender’s driving privileges if the person is under 21 at the time of the charge.